New Teacher Tips · Work Life Balance

I Disconnected

Way back in 2014 I was a young, bright-eyed student teacher. I was tweeting, I was blogging, I was innovating. I was on fire. Then first year teaching hit me like a ton of bricks. I got a job teaching a brand new course at a brand new school designed to close the achievement gap through a complex assessment and grading policy and a system of social-emotional support for every student. It was hard work. I was writing curriculum that blended chemistry, biology, and biotechnology in a way that hadn’t really been done before. I was still figuring out the basics of running my own classroom. I was trying to figure out the systems of this crazy awesome school that really took care of the whole child. I learned so much about my teaching practice being surrounded by skilled professional educators and was very focused on honing my instruction. It was a time of immense challenge and growth. But in these first years I stopped doing a lot of good things too. I stopped blogging and tweeting. My grandiose ideas for changing instruction got shelved as I became bogged down with the day-to-day demands of my job and my life. I felt like I was losing touch with the student teacher that was so fresh and full of ideas. She wasn’t gone, she just wan’t accessible. I was in a slump in both my career and my life.

Lately I have been reminded of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. We’re all familiar. To achieve self-actualization basic needs must be met. I began thinking about my life and teaching in terms of this hierarchy. Of course I wasn’t cultivating relationships in my life, I could barely feed myself regularly. I began to wonder what a Hierarchy of Needs might look like maslow-for-teachersto a new teacher so I began to draw it out. At the base a teacher needs basic classroom management and organization as well as curriculum. I didn’t have these starting out. No real curriculum, no workflow systems. I had to build all this from the ground up. My workflow is better but I’m still tweaking it. I’m still battling with curriculum and assessment as our school and department grows and we are constantly changing and aligning and realigning and rethinking assessment. I know I still have growth in my instruction. I’m still developing that “withitness” which does not come naturally to me. I don’t always close my lessons. My transitions sometimes take way longer than they should. But overall it’s better. I’m finally at a point where I feel like I can reconnect with that spunky student teacher. So this post is my way of saying:
salesforce-returning-visitor-feature

Leave a Reply

